Does bleach exist in a natural form?

No, bleach is a composite solution of sodium hypochlorite (the active ingredient) and water.

When was bleach discovered/invented?

In 1785, the French chemist Berthollet discovered the decolouring properties of a solution of sodium hypochlorite when he was bleaching textiles. This happened in the village of Javel (currently a neighbourhood in the 15th District of Paris). Hence the name javel water.

Does bleach smell like chlorine?

Bleach does not smell like chlorine. It smells like bleach! Chlorine gas can only be released when bleach is inadvertently brought in contact with an acid.

Why does the water in swimming pools sting your eyes?

In swimming pools, bleach is used to prevent pollution caused by microbes by responding to the organic elements in the impurities that are transferred by the swimmers. Therefore, it is possible that chlorinated compounds are formed that have an irritant or malodorous effect. This actually means that the amount of bleach in the swimming pool is insufficient, rather than too large.

How is it that tap water smells/tastes like bleach?

Water must be treated to make it potable. It can happen that water has a pronounced taste, because the treatment of the water required the addition of a significant amount of javel water. This may be the case during hot weather or when work is being done on the basin. To get rid of that taste, simply place the water in the refrigerator or add a few drops of lemon juice.

Should you drink milk after you have ingested bleach?

No! Milk does not neutralise bleach. If you have ingested bleach, you should drink a lot of cold water. Do not vomit and contact the nearest poison control centre if the poisoning seems serious.

Is bleach an acid?

Bleach is not an acid; bleach is an alkaline product. This means that contact between bleach and an acid can cause a chemical reaction.

In what forms is bleach available?

There are 2 forms of bleach available to consumers:

  • concentrated: with 48 to 50° chlorine (Chl.).
  • ready-to-use: with 8°, 10°, 12°, 15° chlorine. The latter is packaged in barrels of 1, 2, or 5 litres.

Can concentrated bleach be used over and over again?

The concentrated bleach may only be used if it is diluted with 3/4 of a litre of cold water. This in fact creates bleach with 12% Chl. Dilution should only be done in an empty bleach bottle and never in another bottle, in order to avoid accidents.

Must bleach always be used in combination with cold water?

For disinfection purposes, cold or lukewarm water suffices.

Is the shelf life of concentrated bleach the same as that of ready-to-use bleach?

Concentrated bleach must be diluted within 3 months following the date of purchase. Ready-to-use bleach (12% Chl.) can be kept for 6 months without a noticeable loss of effect). Storing bleach for a longer period does not destroy it. However, the active ingredient does decrease. Simply add a little more to the water.

How should the bleach bottles and dilutions be stored?

Like all maintenance products, the bottles should be stored out of the reach of children, high enough and – if possible – locked away. Bleach keeps the longest in a dark and cool place.

May surfaces that come into contact with food be treated with bleach?

In kitchens, worktops and kitchenware may be washed with bleach, as long as the prescribed dosage and recommended contact time are observed. Rinsing the dishes after disinfection is obligatory.

Can stains on the bottom of a saucepan be removed with bleach?

Saucepans that are made of enamel or glass (not pans made of inox or aluminium) can be de-stained with 10° Chl. bleach. Contact with the dirty sides is allowed for 1 to 2 hours. Afterwards, pour out the bleach, bring some water to boil to remove odours, then rinse with tap water.

Can bleach be used to deodorise a refrigerator?

Yes, bleach disinfects and deodorises a refrigerator. Use 2 to 3 cl. Of 10° Chl. bleach per litre of water, let sit for 5 minutes and then rinse.

Can bleach be mixed with a descaling agent?

No. Mixing bleach and an acid (such as a descaling agent) releases chlorine gas, which is poisonous. If javel has mistakenly come into contact with a descaling agent, you must leave immediately and – if possible – ventilate the area.

Can bleach be used to clean toilets?

Yes. Toilets are a source of contamination. Regular disinfection is therefore necessary. Treat the sides of the toilet, let sit for 5 minutes and then flush.

Will that cause a problem for septic tanks?

Toilets can be treated twice a week without it causing problems for the septic tank. Bleach that comes into contact with organic ingredients quickly disappears and the remaining – very small – amount will certainly not hinder the tank’s functioning.

Can bleach be mixed with a floor polish?

No. Bleach must always be used on its own. Mixing it with household products hinders the cleaning and disinfection function. To perfectly disinfect a surface, it must first be washed and rinsed with pure water, then treated with bleach.

What textile fibres do not tolerate bleach?

All fibres of animal origin (wool, silk…) must not be treated with bleach. All other fibres can tolerate bleach, although the dosage is different for each fibre. Watch out with coloured fabrics: they may change colour!

What about modern textiles?

No problem. To disinfect modern textiles, 1/2 a glass of 10° Chl. bleach in the compartment of the washing machine is sufficient, or 1/4 of a glass in 10 litres of water. Watch out with coloured fabrics: they may change colour!

L’eau de Javel existe-t-elle sous forme naturelle ?

Non, l’eau de Javel est une solution composée d’hypochlorite de sodium (principe actif) et d’eau.

Quand l’eau de Javel a-t-elle été découverte/inventée ?

C’est en 1785 que le chimiste français Berthollet a découvert les propriétés décolorantes d’une solution d’hypochlorite de sodium au blanchiment des textiles, dans un village du nom de Javel (quartier actuel dans le 15ième arrondissement de Paris), d’où le nom de « eau de Javel ».

L'eau de javel sent-elle le chlore ?

L’eau de javel ne sent pas le chlore. Elle sent l’eau de Javel ! Il ne se dégage de gaz chlore que lorsque l’eau de javel est mélangée par erreur à un acide.

Pourquoi l'eau des piscines pique t'elle aux yeux ?

Dans les piscines, l’eau de Javel empêche la pollution microbienne en réagissant avec les matières organiques provenant des impuretés apportées par les baigneurs. Il se peut que des composés chlorés se forment, responsables des effets irritants et malodorants. Cela signifie en réalité que la quantité d’eau de piscine est insuffisante et non l’inverse.

Pourquoi l'eau du robinet sent-elle ou goûte-elle l'eau de Javel ?

Il est nécessaire de traiter l’eau pour la rendre potable. Il arrive que cette eau ait un gout prononcé parce que le traitement de l’eau a nécessité une quantité plus importante d’eau de Javel, par exemple quand il fait très chaud ou lors de travaux au bassin. Pour supprimer ce gout, il suffit de mettre l’eau dans le réfrigérateur ou d’y ajouter quelques gouttes de jus de citron.

Faut-il boire du lait après avoir bu de l’eau de Javel ?

Non ! Le lait ne neutralise pas la Javel. Si vous avez ingéré de l’eau de Javel, il faut boire beaucoup d’eau froide, éviter les vomissements et contacter le centre antipoison si l’intoxication s’avère grave.

La Javel, est-elle un produit acide ?

L’eau de javel n’est pas acide, c’est un produit alcalin, c’est à dire que son contact avec un acide peut provoquer une réaction chimique.

Sous quelle forme peut-on se procurer l'eau de Javel ?

L’eau de javel est commercialisée sous deux formes :

  • concentrée : allant de 48 à 50° chlorométrique (Chl)
  • prête à l’emploi : à 8°, 10°, 12° ou 15° chlorométriques, dans des bouteilles de 1, 2 ou 5 L).

Peut-on à chaque fois utiliser de l’eau de Javel concentrée ?

L’eau de Javel concentrée peut uniquement être utilisée si elle est diluée dans ¾ litre d’eau froide. Ainsi vous créez une eau de Javel à 12 % Chl. La dilution peut uniquement se faire dans une bouteille d’eau de Javel vide et jamais dans une autre bouteille, afin d’éviter des accidents.

Faut-il toujours mélanger la Javel à de l’eau froide ?

Pour désinfecter, il suffit d’utiliser de l’eau froide ou tiède.

L'eau de javel concentrée se conserve-t-elle aussi longtemps que l'eau de javel prête à l'emploi ?

L’eau de javel concentrée doit être diluée dans les 3 mois qui suivent la date d’achat. L’eau de javel prête à l’emploi (12°chl) se conserve 6 mois, sans perte notable d’activité. Une conservation plus longue ne détruit pas la Javel, mais entraîne une diminution de l’effet de la substance active. Il faudra alors simplement en mettre davantage dans l’eau.

Comment faut-il stocker les doses et bouteilles de Javel entamées ?

Comme tous les produits d’entretien, ces bouteilles doivent être stockées hors portée des enfants, à un endroit suffisamment haut et – si possible – à un endroit verrouillé. La Javel se conserve le plus longtemps à un endroit frais, à l’abri de la lumière.

Les surfaces qui entrent en contact avec des aliments peuvent-elles être traitées à la Javel ?

Dans la cuisine, les plans de travail et les ustensiles peuvent être lavés à l’eau de Javel, à condition de respecter la dose recommandée et le délai de contact conseillé. Le rinçage après désinfection est obligatoire.

Peut-on nettoyer le fond d’une casserole à la Javel ?

Les casseroles en émail ou en verre (pas celles en inox ou en aluminium) peuvent être nettoyées à l’aide d’eau de Javel à 10° Chl. Un contact de 1 à 2 heures avec les parois sales est autorisé. Jetez ensuite l’eau de Javel, faites bouillir de l’eau pour désodoriser et rincez à l’eau du robinet.

Peut-on désodoriser un réfrigérateur à l’eau de Javel ?

Oui, l’eau de Javel désodorise et désinfecte un réfrigérateur. Utilisez 2 à 3 cl de Javel à 10° Chl. Par litre d’eau, laissez agir 5 minutes et rincez.

Peut-on mélanger de l’eau de Javel à un détartrant ?

Non. Le mélange de Javel à un acide (comme un détartrant) dégage des vapeurs de chlore toxiques. Si de l’eau de Javel entre par erreur en contact avec un détartrant, il faut immédiatement s’éloigner et – si possible – aérer la pièce.

Peut-on utiliser de l’eau de Javel pour nettoyer la cuvette d’une toilette ?

Oui. Les cuvettes de toilettes sont une source de contamination. Une désinfection régulière s’impose. Il faut traiter les parois de la cuvette, laisser agir le produit pendant 5 minutes et ensuite rincer.

Est-ce que cela pose un problème pour les puits septiques ?

Les toilettes peuvent être traitées jusqu’à 2 fois par semaine à l’eau de Javel, sans engendrer de problèmes pour le puits septique. L’eau de Javel qui entre en contact avec les substances organiques disparaîtra très vite et la quantité résiduelle infime n’aura pas d’effet sur le fonctionnement d’un tel puits.

Peut-on mélanger de l’eau de Javel aux nettoyants pour sols ?

Non. La Javel doit toujours être utilisée seule. La mélanger à des produits ménagers n’est pas bon pour le nettoyage et la désinfection. Pour bien désinfecter une surface, il faut d’abord la nettoyer et la rincer à l’eau pure, ensuite à la Javel.

Quelles fibres textiles ne supportent pas la Javel ?

Aucune fibre d’origine animale (laine, soie, …) ne peut être traitée à l’eau de Javel. Les autres fibres, elles, oui, mais la dose dépendra du type de fibre. Attention avec les tissus colorés, car leur couleur pourrait changer !

Et les textiles modernes ?

Il n’y a aucun problème. Pour désinfecter les textiles modernes, il suffit d’ajouter un 1/2 verre de Javel à 10° Chl. dans la machine ou 1/4 verre dans 10 litres d’eau. Attention avec les tissus colorés, car leur couleur pourrait changer !